Antique Sewing Machines, Shibori with Janice Gunner, Rusting again! City & Guilds.

This photo is taken of a shop called All Saints of Spitalfields.  The Shop is in the Bluewater Shopping Centre which is just off the M25 near the Dartford Crossing in London.  There are more than one window covered with sewing machines in this shop plus displays inside.  There are other shops in London as well.

I did a class with Janice Gunner learning new Shibori techniques and also how to dye with pre-reduced Indigo.  It was a great two day class and this little piece includes several of the techniques and also different fabrics –  cotton, linen and silk.

Here is the completed challenge quilt for the JEMS Quiltsitters Quilt Show.  I really did not like this quilt until I had nearly finished quilting it.  I am very pleased with it now.  I think when you get so close to your quilt or your art work and it does not really seem to be happening quite the way you wanted, it is difficult.  Then when you stand back and breathe, and get away from it for a while… it all falls into place.  This is quite a different sort of quilt for me and I am now looking forward to making more similar quilts.

I purchased these flat metal rest shapes in the very small outdoor department in Liberty’s Department Store in London.  Here is the result after rusting them.  I really like the leaf shape and might use it for some quilting patterns.

I am going to do some more experiments with the copper solution and have already soaked a rusted sample in the solution successfully.  I have also discovered that vinegar removes most of the copper colour from the fabric which might be interesting.  I also need to do some sewing on the copper dyed fabric to see how it goes with needles and thread.

This is a sketchbook cover I have made after seeing one at my friend Joybell’s home recently.  My cover is a different colour to hers, and I could only vaguely remember her instructions.  The backing is some fabric paper I had made earlier in the year.  The text is sponge fonts from four different sets which just stick on then I hurriedly machined over them to keep them in place.  Then acrylic paints – I used Winsor & Newton heavy body acrylics.  Then a few coats of varnish.  I used some old Jo Sonja Satin Varnish.  I really like it and it will make a great gift idea.  This one is for me – it has my name all over it!

This is a really cool photo taken with an app on my iPhone.  The App is called  ‘Paper Camera”.  There are multiple different ways of viewing the world through this app.  This is called sketch up and I think its great.

Sorry I haven’t posted for a while.  Travelling and blogging was more difficult than I thought it would be, then the Whirlwind and her mother came back to Australia with Perse and Myself.  Then had the elderly-but-delightful parent in and out of hospital.  Plus changing from the Windows operating system to the Apple Mac system proved to be more challenging than I had anticipated, however I have had several more classes at the Apple Store and am a little more comfortable with the new lap top now.

I have enrolled and been accepted to do a City & Guilds on line course in Creative Quiltmaking with the Design Matters Team.  Crazy I know,adding more to my already crazy schedule but I am really excited and will update my progress on this blog now and then.

The final photo is of slime at the Albert Docks on the Mersey River in Liverpool.

 

 

 

3 Comments on “Antique Sewing Machines, Shibori with Janice Gunner, Rusting again! City & Guilds.”

  1. Pamela Gilfoyle says:

    Nice to see your blog again I missed it.! and you of course ! Love the rusty bits .!

  2. Karen says:

    Glad to see you back in print Jen. Loved the Jem Sitters quilt and the course you have enrolled in certainly wont leave you much free time and fill you head with new and exicting things to do. Karen


Leave a Reply

